Help to Buy London map

Sep 03, 2020
London Borough Map

If you’re thinking of buying a new home in London, the Help to Buy scheme could save you money. We explain how the scheme works and the eligible Help to Buy London boroughs with our area map.

Our London homes >




What is Help to Buy?

Help to Buy is a Government-backed scheme to help first-timebuyers buy a new build home. With Help to Buy, the Government give you an equity loan which is interest-free for five years. This means you could buy a home with as little as a 5% deposit. To be eligible for Help to Buy:

  • Your home must be a new build
  • Your home must not cost more than £600,000
  • You must intend to live in the property yourself
  • You must be a first-time buyer

What’s different about Help to Buy in London?

As property prices tend to be more expensive in London than elsewhere in the UK, you’ll get access to a larger loan if you buy within the Help to Buy London area. A larger loan means you’d need a smaller mortgage to buy.

  Loan amount
(% of property price)
Minimum deposit
(% of property price)
(% of property price)
London 40% 5% 55%
Rest of UK 20% 5% 75%

The Help to Buy London property price limit is £600,000. This means the Government will lend you up to £240,000 to help you buy your new home.

Find out more >

What’s the Help to Buy London area?

The Help to Buy London zone includes London’s 32 boroughs and the City of London itself. You can use the scheme to buy a new build home anywhere within this boundary, up to the value of £600,000. See where you could buy with our Help to Buy London map.


London Map Area


Help to Buy is changing

Help to Buy is only available to first-time buyers.

The good news is the Help to Buy London loan amount is higher than the rest of the UK with a maximum property value of £600,000. The amount you can spend on your new home will vary by region in the rest of the UK.

Find out more >

Take a look at some of our available new homes within the Help to Buy London area here.